The Cole House Museum
Located at 402 W. Cole street. This house was the first house located in what is now the city of Moundridge, Kansas. It began in 1875 as a two-room two story house with a lean-to kitchen. Through additions over the years, it grew to 14-rooms. The house was owned by the Cole family for over 110 years. Visiting the home is like stepping back into history when time moved at a slower pace.
Photographs tell the story of one pioneer family's struggle to establish a home on the Kansas prairie. Handmade quilts, clothing, furniture, dishes and other personal artifacts are included in the museum tour. Most of the trees and flowers were planted by the Coles. A 21-ft deep, hand-dug well was used by the family to cool their food and is still on the property. Visitors can experience what life was like in the late 1800's through stories about the family.
The house was donated to the City of Moundridge in 1985 by Grace Kutnink, the grand daughter of builders, Drusilla and Thornton Cole, to be developed into a museum. The contents of the house are owned by the Moundridge Historical Association. The house and artifacts have been restored to be enjoyed by all who visit. The first floor is accessible to visitors with special needs. The second floor of the house, grounds, family and area history is assessible through a video that was graciously put together by our members.
Cole House Museum, 402 W. Cole, Moundridge, KS 67107
Old fashioned kitchen where meals were prepared for family. Original dishes are on display.
Thornton and Drusilla's family circa 1903. Parlor with stained glass window and original art.
Completed in 2010, and located on the Cole House grounds at 406 W Cole , the museum displays many artifacts used in early agriculture in the area. Plows, implements and planters date back to the 1800's. Descriptions of their uses and donors are included with displays. Early 1900 tractors, are shown for your information and enjoyment.
Early wagons used in area agriculture.
Veterinary tools and photographs showing local history. Early 1900's buggy.
Saw rig used to cut hedge during 1930's. Samples, plants , research and photographs of crops.
Located in the big red barn on the museum grounds, the Heritage Museum opened in October of 2011. Displays feature information and exhibits pertaining to the early residents of the area their religion, genealogy, oral histories, business, medicine, domestic arts, photographs, music, art and military.
Newspapers on microfilm from 1887 are available for research. Antique printing presses from the local newspapers are also on display.
The Heritage Museum will depict the history of many families in the area. Through their generous donations artifacts, as well as financial gifts and volunteering their time, they have made this resource a reality for others to enjoy.
Agriculture Museum, Blacksmith Shop and Heritage Museum
Antique Doll and Toys Complete Collection of Creamery Momentos
Soda Fountain Memories Early Classroom
Antique Baby Cradle Tarver Pump Organ
1900's Baby Carriage Early 1900'sWicker Baby Carriage
1924 Copper Clad Stove
The Blacksmith shop is located north of the Heritage Museum. It was built by volunteers who are local blacksmiths and volunteers. The project began as an Eagle Scout project and was completed in October of 2012. It is an operating blacksmith shop where visitors can come to watch this skill still being practiced today. The front facade is made from used barn wood. Flaps on each side and back provides visitors good visibility as well as needed ventilation for the blacksmiths.
Steve and David Plenert and friend at Homestead Trail Celebration
Blacksmith, Larry Neilson demonstrates blacksmithing.
Located at 205 W. Cole, the Depot Museum was built as an actual railroad depot in the 1880's when the railroad came through the area. In 1986 the building was purchased and moved a few feet off the railroad right-of-way. Artifacts and photographs depict the importance of the railroad to the development of Moundridge. The interior of the Depot museum has been restored. The exterior will be completed in the spring of 2015. It is open by appointment.
Collection of train memorabilia
Homestead Trail Celebration
We celebrate our heritage with a Homestead Trail Celebration on the third Saturday in October. Blacksmiths, Mountain Men, tours through the museums, old fashioned music, games, food and fun.
Old fashioned games and rope making. Pony Cart Rides for kids
Practicing milking skills on our 'Almost Cow" Little Bucaroos learned how to rope
Square Dancing taught us our right from our "other right."
Weaving Demonstrations were informative Volunteers quilt on a 1930 Cole Family quilt top
Local Musicians entertain everyone Kids get to inspect newly hatched chicks
Moundridge Historical Association
402 W. Cole Street, P.O. Box 69
Moundridge, KS 67107
(620) 345-2427, (620) 345-8287